And it goes on

My colleague and I, along with a teacher who had hosted us, were talking over lunch today. I believe he had been asked to take us out for lunch, since they couldn’t serve us lunch at school. Those perfunctory conversations had to be made. I was asked about the usual things – my education, marital status and what not.

“How long have you been with EZV?”, the teacher asked.

“In which month do you complete the 10 years?”, my colleague added. As I thought about it, I realised that it is today. If I joined on 5th of June 2006, then technically, I complete 10 years on the 4th of June 2016, don’t I? Though it turns out that one would celebrate the work anniversary only tomorrow, perhaps? Strange that I should have been asked this question just today, I thought to myself.

“You should have told us earlier, we could have celebrated it in a bigger way”, exclaimed the teacher.

I did not ask him what it meant. I am quite apprehensive, even averse of ‘big’, in any case. Moreover, a part of me is a private person. I’d much rather celebrate such things with some very special people, or none at all. I’ve requested my HR not to send those work anniversary wishes, that get mailed as a matter of routine. I had requested that I be left out, and I am hoping that my wish is respected. This isn’t to belittle such rituals, or for instance, those two fine gentleman that I dined with earlier today, but to emphasize that privacy is something I deeply value.

As I sit down to write, I tell myself that I’ve been celebrating in any case. 30 days, 30 posts. About the EZV, that I have come to love and respect. About the EZV that has given me more than I can ever dream of giving it. Not that EZV needs me to do it. I have always maintained that there is only one reason to give. And that is, to giving itself. Nothing more.

I hadn’t ever imagined I’d come this far – 10 years. Or even 30 consecutive blog posts on the same subject, one everyday. I started it almost as a whim, without putting much thought into it. And then, EZV gave me the reason to continue and keep my promise to myself. That is more than I may have blogged in the past few years all put together! Perhaps, it is a celebration of pushing the boundaries, of bringing out the best in me, that EZV seems to have done so well.

I considered writing a post about Chitra too. After all, she has played a significant role in making EZV what it is, but also in my own journey thus far. Yet, I put it off – for later if not forever  – for fear of embarrassing her. Do I not have any problems whatsoever with her? Of course I do; our fights are no secret! Would I not complain about EZV, ever? Sure I would, to the right people, in the most appropriate way – for EZV has given me the space to express myself, even if it isn’t about the most flattering of things. Do I agree with everything about EZV? Not at all. In fact, I am realising even to my surprise, that I may have some very fundamental disagreements. Yet, when I look back at it all, it is more than evident to me that the things that have made my life at EZV worthwhile, far outweigh those aspects that remotely trouble me.

So what next? I consider myself a voyager of sorts, and to plan my voyages – even little holidays that I take once in a while – is something I do not indulge in. The best of my sojourns have been the ones that I have never planned, but simply set out discovering each moment as it comes. Is this list of 30 posts comprehensive, then, that it completes what I had set out to do? I do not know if there is anything comprehensive I had intended, except wanting to write a post every day for a month. And after a month, I’d like to stop here. However, not before I admit, that there is something infinitely more valuable to me than everything that I have written about thus far, in the context of EZV. It is the unspoken things, the intangibles, the moments that tug a string & touch a chord, those little thingamajigs, shall we say, that penetrate the deepest part of us, touch us so profoundly so as to almost become us, in myriad ways? For all the finest poetry in this world, I do believe that words are woefully inadequate when it comes to capturing some of the subtlest emotions. And at the end of the day, my relationship with EZV is that – a feeling.

I feel overwhelmed, as I say this one more time here in my blog, though in my heart, I shall perhaps say it till the day I die – thank you, EZV.

Leave a Reply

