The things that matter

It was a long back, almost around the time I had joined. I was just getting to know the people and the ways of EZV. In a new crowd, I am not usually the first person to go say hello. I prefer to wait, I take my time to make friends. I have been told that this may not be the best, especially at the workplace. After all, being extroverted is so hyped in my opinion. I haven’t tried to change myself; I am comfortable the way I am.

He was one of the most popular people at work.  From what I understood, he was fairly good at what he did. Though I did not have too many opportunities to interact with him, from the few conversations, I could sense that he was sharp and possessed a quick wit. Clearly, he was an asset to the company. All this, is of course, from my memory, which as I may have earlier mentioned, isn’t something I am proud of.

And then one day, he quit. Just like that. Like many others, I was shocked, to say the least. How do you weigh people? What yardstick do business use to determine if people are valuable or not? This has been a question that I have mulled over, several times, in the past. I learnt later, that he was in fact fired by the management. The reason? It was something to do with his integrity. I remember how Chitra was visibly upset, when she shared the news with some of us. What upset her, was not so much this incident itself, but the fact that an EZVian turned out to be so. Hadn’t we tried to nurture people with the highest values? Did we not want to reflect the things that we stood for? Where had we failed? These were some of the questions that troubled Chitra back then.

Back then, I hadn’t fully realised the gravity of the matter. I didn’t fully appreciate why Chitra may have been so upset with the way things turned out. Over time, it strikes me – like they say, attitude is everything. And at EZV, we have stuck with this tenet. Those who, for some reason, are not able to perform but possess the right attitude, are given the longest rope. Apart from time for them to learn & grow, they are given immense support to help them in their jobs. On the other hand, someone may be the most talented. Yet, if his/her attitude is poor, they have no place in EZV. Not only is this practiced, but communicated to everyone – loud and clear. As simple as it might sound, it isn’t the easiest to practice it. In fact, so much importance is given to this aspect that over time, we have tried to articulate what we mean by these ‘softer aspects’. We have articulated, revisited and refined (and continue to do so), a document called ECD – EZV Common Denominator. It is a set of qualities that we think are most important. As it says in the document itself, it is at once, what we are and what we aspire to be. It is an attempt to define our culture, as manifested in our people.

I am grateful in EZV, for showing me the way – for what I can be. I am grateful to EZV, for valuing the right kind of things in people. I am grateful to EZV, for choosing the path that is tougher, but a lot more gratifying.

2 thoughts on “The things that matter

    • Yes. And so I have updated the post, crudely, to say just that. Though I think they are closely linked. Integrity or the lack of it is perhaps just an extreme manifestation of undesirable attitudes?

Leave a Reply

