How it all started

What do you make out, when you hear that someone has their ‘heart in the right place’? When I heard it, I did not think much of it back then.

I was then teaching at a school, part-time, for a monthly salary of INR 5000. It wasn’t enough, especially considering my lifestyle would include certain luxuries, but then how much ever is I have wondered! I found a kind-hearted schoolmate who would accommodate me in his dwelling, so the major expense of rent was saved. I quite enjoyed teaching, except that it required me to be tremendously patient – a virtue that I did not possess. However, it was still a contractual job and by the end of the academic year, I was asked if I wanted to continue. I had no idea; it wasn’t like I had many options to choose from.

One day, I received a very brief email from a cousin working with Wipro. It was about Wipro looking to hire a person. ‘Are you interested in working on school education?’ it said. Or some such thing. It was very brief in any case. I shot off an email which said that I was indeed interested; I had nothing to lose. In a few days, I received a response, requesting for an application to be filled out. It was a mundane application form, but quite unlike all other mundane application forms, at least in parts! Following this, a few days later, I received a mail requesting for a telephonic chat. That turned out to be anything but mundane and it piqued my curiosity. I was finally invited for an interview, which I did attend. One thing that struck me about this entire experience was that these were good people to work with. I was hoping I’d get through, though during the interview itself, I realised that some of the others who had turned up were much more experienced, older and more educated that I was. This, I had noticed, not without some trepidation.

A few weeks later, I received a call from one of the people who had interviewed me. I was told that I wasn’t selected. There was the customary wishing and thanking that came with it, but the facts looked pretty plain. Just as I thought he was going to hang up, he offered something more to say. “Would you be interested in exploring opportunities with this outfit called EZ Vidya? They are based out of Chennai. I don’t know if they have requirements right now, but they are good people to work for. I know Chitra, who runs it, personally, and I think she has her heart in the right place”, he added. I had no reason to refuse. Very soon, he very kindly sent out an email introducing me to EZV, following which EZV was kind enough to offer me a job.

Looking back, I am grateful to that gentleman. However, I am also grateful to EZV, for being associated with Wipro in the first place, but also making a mark in that relationship. It is this impression that EZV had left on its partner, which doubtless led to my interviewer thinking of EZV in the context of my interview with him. Most importantly, I am grateful to EZV for hiring me 10 years ago.

Leave a Reply

