Taking responsibility

For the longest time now, I’ve been asked to interview people who apply with us. Invariably, the first conversation would end up being with me, unless it is clear that the person has applied for a very specific position. I tell people, in jest, that perhaps I am the most jobless person in EZV.
I remember this once when I had had a chat with Chitra about a candidate and asked for her opinion. I didn’t much of an opinion. What I did get was some questions, about the candidate and the possible role that I had in mind for him and so on. I thought about it, posed further questions and we perhaps ran out of time just then. Later, it struck me that we hadn’t really arrived at a decision and so I mailed her, presuming she needed a reminder. I received a prompt response asking me what I had thought of the candidate. I was mildly annoyed, because I do remember giving a detailed update in person.
Nevertheless, I wrote down a detailed mail, giving the pros and cons once again. I was hoping that I’d get some help deciding and so ensure it was a fairly detailed, and as unbiased an account as possible. Yet again, I received a prompt response. This time, it simply said, “I thought I had shared my thoughts. Go ahead and take a call.”
Now I was a little more than mildly annoyed and all set to shoot another email. “I needed help after all, was that so difficult to understand?”, I thought to myself. As I was writing this mail, it struck me that inadvertently, I may have been evading making a decision. And that’s precisely what I was being pushed for – to decide, and to stand by the decision. Very often, we find people who simply want to let others take the decision. It is after all, quite safe to play it that way.
I am grateful to EZV, that I have been pushed to take decisions and be responsible for them. I am even more grateful to EZV, for standing by me and my decisions, even when I have gone terribly wrong.
Leave a Reply

