Life as an adventure

“Do you still make such adventurous trips?”, he asked. I had just narrated to a colleague how I once ended up in Shirdi without much of a plan, with not even a pair of clothes to change into. I did not bother to clarify what he meant by that. I wondered what the import of his question was. Perhaps he meant that I had mellowed down over time.

During the initial days at EZV, I had a once to make a trip to Kochi. It was for a workshop, to kickoff an engagement with what is now a big and very popular organisation. Everything was set, we had prepared fairly well, and for a change, I was well in time to catch my train. I can not remember now, but there was some goof up with the tickets – either they simply weren’t confirmed or we had got them booked for the wrong date or some such thing. Essentially, the TTE told me that I could not travel on that train. I wasn’t going to take such a verdict sitting down. Back then, I don’t remember if flying was so common that it may have occurred as an option. Evidently not, for I boarded the general compartment, which was packed. I found enough place right next to the door, to stand, with my bag placed overhead. There were a bunch of college kids who would want me to go inside, but I wouldn’t oblige. I made the 12-odd hours of the journey, standing right there, and I completed my work the following day too. When I hit the sack the following night, it had never felt better.

There seems to be the adventurist, throbbing with life, deep within me. He may have mellowed, as my colleague I described above seemed to imply, but he refuses to die completely, and perhaps never would. For this person, adventure is a deeply satisfying aspect of life. And part of it lies in the surprises that life has to throw. Some of us choose to embrace these surprises, and seek adventure in them. So, when one year after another passed for me, in EZV, some of my closes friends and family members, including my father, were surprised. Perhaps, rightfully so, for they knew this part of me that seeks thrills and therefore must keep moving on.

It is past midnight now. I sit in the waiting room of a railway station, having traveled from one town to another, waiting to get to yet another. And as I do, I reminisce, that what neither they, nor indeed I had expected, was in the manner in which these thrills were to be found. The work trip mentioned above, is one of the many trips I had made on work. The aspect of travel, which I had earlier written about, is itself perhaps just one aspect of this adventure.

I read somewhere, a long time ago, that ‘One way to get the most out of life is to look upon it as an adventure‘. It resonates a lot with me, and I suppose it is this part of me that may never die. I am grateful to EZV, for the varied pursuits that it has afforded me. Indeed I am grateful because my fortunate association with the organisation itself has been an adventure; it has been one hell of a ride. And, I can’t wait for more to come, at EZV and beyond, for as long as I breathe, everyday shall be lived as an adventure. Now, if the reader will excuse me, I am off to board the train & experience the adventures that await me with another group of teachers, tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

