All the many things

I remember one of my first adventures at EZV was a trip here. I chose to ride the distance, though I recall the duration of the ride turned out to be more than I had anticipated. Back then, I used to ride my motorcycle a lot and this was yet another opportunity. I paid a quick visit to an ancient temple in the vicinity as well. However, it is not only for these reasons that I remember that day. It was my first official ‘sales call’, all by myself. I had never imagined myself selling anything before that day.

Back then, ‘Chrysalis ICT’ was our mainstay. For some reason, I was asked to go to this particular school and make a sales presentation, which I did. I felt on that day, that I had done a fairly good job. It is another matter that I couldn’t clinch the deal. I wasn’t just allowed to go for the call though. We had a mock sales presentation at office, when one of our colleagues was asked to play the Management Representative of an imaginary school and I had to ‘pitch’ to him. This person was known for his histrionics and I remember him going overboard, that I struggled to keep a straight face and do my job. After all, Chitra was watching! Looking back now, I can’t believe the kind of time we may have had on our hands to go through such a thing!

This was but one example. I have had to work on numerous other things that I wasn’t ‘meant’ to work on. For instance, I remember doing Quality Checks for several content objects, particularly audio-visuals, perhaps some ten years back. I was told that I possessed an eye for detail back then, which was quite a surprise to me. All these experiences were significant learning experiences for me. Equally importantly, the experience in itself was of value. Each activity allowed me to enjoy a certain unique experience irrespective of what I learned out of it.

I see now how we try to allow people to try their hand at different things for just these reasons. Now, of course, things are a lot different and as we scale, we may not have the luxury that some of us had back then. Yet, this aspect is slowly becoming a part of the system, so that we consciously allow people such experiences as best as we can afford. I am sure that this inherent variety in work, the associated challenges, the richness in varied experiences and the learning thereof are significant perks at work. And I am grateful to EZV for these invaluable experiences.

Leave a Reply

