Tough nut

Some times, it gets tough. Like one summer morning, 2 years ago, when we decided to go to Gingee. It was his idea, history buff that he is. We had spoken about it for the longest time, and for some strange reason, it all fell in place one sunny day in the month of May! Along the way, he told me how Shivaji had mentioned the fort to be on of the toughest to scale. We made it to the entry point as soon as it opened, considering the day would get warmer.

While I am sure my companion enjoyed shooting pictures and wondering about the past, for me, it was about getting to the top of the fort. Hardly had we begun the ascent that he gave up. I couldn’t let it go. And as I left him behind to climb, I realised that it was getting tougher. The sun was blazing, and I had not carried any water with me. I have no doubt that my stamina was at its worst and I was slow. I couldn’t give up though. I simply had to get there, and I did, no matter how long it took.

I believe I can be pretty determined when it comes to some things. It can be with the smallest of things, but when I make up my mind, I simply stick to the job and get it done. At work too, it is so, that I tend not to give up so easily. Apart from the little tasks, this includes the idea of working in this field of education itself.

It doesn’t come easy for EZV, for what we are out to sell, doesn’t attract most people. Even those who do decide to give Chrysalis a shot, may succumb to the pressures of those around them, be it parents or other teachers. It is tough work, because it fundamentally involves changing minds of people. This is especially so when they fail to see the problem in the first place. Indeed, most believe a certain kind of education – of a mad pace, of doing ‘more’ without understanding, of quantity without quality, of competition rather than cooperation – to be ‘good’ for their children, and when we speak about Chrysalis, they wonder why it is even necessary. It is in these circumstances that EZV has been working for the last decade and a half.  I can see how slowly, despite all odds, several of my colleagues just go on with it with their head held high. How did that come to be? Apart from their own grit, I believe EZV had something to contribute to this.

I write this post after an 18 hour day that included 6 hours of talking, debating and convincing, and a 300 km drive. I am tired, irritable and sleepy. I am tempted to just go to bed, but somehow, I couldn’t give up on this month-long series that I had committed myself to. And I am glad I didn’t. I am grateful to EZV – for not giving up on the vision this far, and remaining steadfast. I am grateful to EZV for inculcating this spirit – of not giving up – in me too.

Leave a Reply

