a milestone of sorts

Some of the drives can get tough. For some reason, you have, in your mind decided to get to a certain place by sunset. As time passes by, you begin to realize you may not make it, and yet want to get as close as you could. The roads are bad, tiresomeness has already set in. You just want to find that imagined bed, and not wake up until the next morning, when it is time to hit the road again. Tired and restless, you realize you have been looking at the odometer more often than not, in the anxiety of ‘getting there’.

At other times, there may be good music or the company of loved ones. It may just be the sights that keep you hooked, not noticing where you are really headed or for how long you have been driving. It doesn’t matter, and even if it does, your mind forgets it, if only temporarily. You hardly pay heed to the milestones that pass by.

I wouldn’t say this journey has been of the latter kind. Yet, it has been no less fascinating. At least when I have been at it. And then there have been those diversions, significant ones. What these were, I know not, but the result has been obvious to all of us. Yet, there has been something that kept bringing me back here every now and then, if only rarely.

As I was ‘shifting spaces’, I happened to inadvertently go through some of the older posts. And that is when it struck me that it has been 5 years 6 years (and thanks to Atul for correcting this!) since it all started, in this manner.

19 thoughts on “a milestone of sorts

  1. I am so glad that you are still coming back here for writing such as yours are a pleasure to read. I cant help but notice that in this post and the last you have used a common genre to express your thoughts did you notice it?

  2. I have also known HDWK for about that length of time, she was one of my early blog friends. It’s interesting to go back through the years of a blog, one’s own or another person’s. I sometimes feel that people who have read my blog for a while know me better than some of those who know me in person. Happy Blog Day.

  3. Seems more like six years to me, but hey, that’s just me! šŸ˜‰ And I must say, I am glad you wrote this post. And’ I’ll agree with Z – I knew HDWK too. It’s a shame many of the old lot have chosen to let go of their blog. But then, It’s heartening to know many are coming back! šŸ˜€

  4. Yay. The Bum is back!

    I know most of what you have written here is metaphoric but I suddenly happen to remember those bus rides from Bangalore to kerala during holidays back in the college days… that imagined bed… lol!

    Keep writing bum. I love your style.

  5. Thanks for coming back to my post, Dharma! You were one of the few readers of my baby posts, a few years back! Yours were serious posts and I used to read them twice or thrice before commenting so that I don’t spoil the post by writing silly comment!

    Will be coming back now! Happy Pongal to you and your family, Dharma!

  6. so you have shifted and being an fan of your trailing thoughts and unfinished journeys, here i am, marking this site…… congrats on the shift and new house for your thoughts ; )
    Warmest regards and best wishes for 2012 for you and your families.
    M (from Belgium)

Leave a Reply

