is that me?

one of my favourite bloggers had tagged me quite a while back, and it was only when i was tagged again, this time by shitrint, did i remember the first tag, and so when i went back to the older tag, i figured that they were both basically the same thing! which was quite a relief, considering the mundaneness of this particular meme πŸ™‚

so here goes, folks –

3 Things That Scare Me:

there used to be lots of things a few years ago. then i met someone who inspired me to be fearless. his advice was to list down the fears of the mind and try and conquer them one by one. i was quite taken in by this idea. like, say, i used to be scared of getting beaten up in a street fight. for a long time, i just feared it. then, a couple of times, i confronted the fear (and the opponent!), got beaten up quite badly, landed a couple of blows too, and i don’t think i am as scared of it anymore. the only fear i haven’t been able to conquer is probably the death of loved ones, especially the parents.

3 People Who Make Me Laugh:

charlie chaplin – i will never get bored watching the same movies over and over again.

crazy mohan – a tamil film script writer and dramatist, among other things. doesn’t the name say so?

sidin – this was long ago, when i knew him personally, in college. his wit and presence of mind, were quite incomparable. somehow i feel his blog doesn’t retain the ‘zing’ anymore, but it still is witty nevertheless.

3 Things I Love:

travel

kicks (like when u quickly down a double! *grin*)

home (in that order)

3 Things I Hate:

didn’t someone say hate is too strong a word?

3 Things I Don’t Understand:

the rat race – why is everybody so inevitably drawn to it? and what the hell is everybody running after?

love – meaning the ‘i have fallen in love with u’ kinda love.

underwear – why the hell are we making life so uncomfortable for ourselves?

3 Things On My Desk:

i’m at work, so i’ll exclude the usual pens, pencils, stationery and so on. well…

a flag of india (two actually – they’re crossed, like an ‘x’)

a framed portrait of sw.vivekananda

my helmet (its the third one. i’ve lost one, broken another in an accident)

Things I’m Doing Right Now:

wondering why i took up this tag in the first place.

feeling sleepy.

waiting to go out for a smoke.

Things I Want To Do Before I Die:

scale Mount Everest – it isn’t meant to sound funny. i seriously wanna do it.

write a book – it’ll probably be a travel book. or philosophy. or inevitably both!

make a school – it may not be the conventional school. i’ll probably call it a centre for discovery or some such thing.

make a library – this is yet another one of those crazy dreams. i’d like to have a library with the best books i’ve read. and probably let people borrow books. also probably create a setting where people can choose to sit and read and probably have a cuppa or smoke a cigarette (smokers will definitely not be discriminated against :P)

3 Things I Can Do:

‘i can think. i can fast. i can wait.’ if that had been original, i’d left it at that, for i really can manage to do all of them quite well. but since those aren’t my own words, i’ll say the following –

cook up a decent south indian vegetarian meal (iyer aathu saapadu, if you know what i mean!)

sing. often, to myself.

bite my toe nails (bah! u already know that, don’t u?)

3 Things I Can’t Do:

spend my life working as a factory supervisor, computer programmer or some such completely lack lustre thing (no offense!)

have myself photographed – in most instances, i end up looking stupid. of course, it is natural that a photo will only reveal the true self, but why document my stupidity for posterity?

ski – i only tried it once. and i tried it for about an hour, fell about a trillion times, made an ass of myself and then finally gave up.

3 Things I Think You Should Listen To:

silence – it just tends to get lost in the midst of all the noise. even if its perfectly silent, there still are the noises in the head. there is nothing quite as comforting, profound and energising as silence.

the sea – just the sound of the sea moves me. it fills me with a certain glimpse of infinity. in fact, more often than not, when i am out at the beach, i don’t bother playing in the water, like many of my friends do. i just sit, and listen.

a live carnatic music concert – it is high energy stuff. among other things, the one thing that really fascinates me is that it is pure, and completely un-premeditated art – it just flows. no wonder the oldies usually say, ‘kutcheri nalla amaindadu’ in tamil. literally meaning, the concert fell in place.(tamils are welcome to provide a better translation)

3 Things You Should Never Listen To:

someone speaking ill of others, especially in their absence. Will Durant says, “To speak ill of others is a dishonest way of praising ourselves. Nothing is often a good thing to say, and always a clever thing to say”.

the voices in our head – they are often our worst distractors. sometimes, it is best to go by our instincts. i believe a silent mind is an intuitive mind.

the dharmabum crying – it doesn’t happen too often, but when it does, he can just wail so hard u’ll think he’ll die of breathlessness or something πŸ™‚

3 Things I’d Like To Learn:

high altitude mountaineering – its gonna help me achieve my lifetime ambition, right?

languages – the more, the merrier. i like languages, and discovered somewhere that i take to them quite easily. what i like most is to speak them, the way they are meant to be spoken, i mean phonetically. i like the different sounds and tones of languages. french, for example, sounds like a song to me. german, like someone’s cussing (hitler don’t take offense – this is just about my perception alright?). if u’ve heard assamese, u’lll agree that there can’t possibly be a faster language.

cookery – like i said, i can manage some basic stuff. but i’d like to learn cooking different types of cuisines and churning up exotic stuff. cooking for me, is meditative. the joy when someone enjoys something u have cooked is quite unique.

3 Favourite Foods:

just about anything vegetarian.

just about anything alcoholic (yeah, i know its a drink, but i just can’t help mentioning it, especially because like all foods and so there won’t be much to write here!)

just about anything sweet.

3 Shows I Watched As A Kid:

for a long time, there was no TV. and when it finally arrived, there was only TV. so its going to be hard to remember, but i’ll try anyways.

rangoli – my parents used to watch it every sunday, and i was inevitably drawn to it. i suppose its why i still like old hindi film music a lot.

the sunday morning 10 o’clock show – it was ramayan, then mahabharata, then ‘the sword of tipu sultan’ and finally ‘chandrakanta’ (thats when i quit it!)

the jungle book, disneyland and one other cartoon show called ‘molu’

———————

phew. thanks!

39 thoughts on “is that me?

  1. I always thought Cantonese was interesting to listen to, simply because it sounds so foreign to my Western ear, more like gobbledygook than a language.No offense to Chinese, of course.

  2. This was an interesting read.. really it was.. you don’t seem to like tags too much.. but – lol – I enjoyed reading it..Some things I loved (and agreed with):love – meaning the ‘i have fallen in love with u’ kinda love.make a school – it may not be the conventional school. i’ll probably call it a centre for discovery or some such thing. If you read one of my posts, I mention a similar thing.. only it’s a dance school.. and I didn’t want the conventional elements of a school in it, either.. :)also probably create a setting where people can choose to sit and read and probably have a cuppa or smoke a cigarette (smokers will definitely not be discriminated against :P) – the number of times I have daydreamt about our local library doing that!silence – it just tends to get lost in the midst of all the noise. even if its perfectly silent, there still are the noises in the head. there is nothing quite as comforting, profound and energising as silence. – beautifully said.. and true! I’ve never heard the sound of the sea, or a carnatic concert, but going by what you said about the sea, I think I’d like them lol..languages – the more, the merrier. i like languages, and discovered somewhere that i take to them quite easily. what i like most is to speak them, the way they are meant to be spoken, i mean phonetically. i like the different sounds and tones of languages. french, for example, sounds like a song to me. german, like someone’s cussing (hitler don’t take offense – this is just about my perception alright?). – I love languages! And I was just thinking about that today too.. about speaking the languages phonetically, like the natives do.. I was listening to an Arabic song and admiring the language, and the way it sounds… sigh. (If you’re interested, the link is: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=26r7E6ECkgg ) I like the way each are different, too… brilliant.

  3. hahaMost of them hilarious, some of them interesting. Wonderful read on a lovely morning Dharma! :)First of all, I never want to get over my fears like u do. Really! I’m not gonna get any joy out of getting beaten up :-PSecondly, the underwear and toe nail bitting have come into the picture again! —-> LOLGood luck at achieving your lifetime ambition soon and improving your culinary skills :)Oh and btw, don’t even imagine of running your dream library with people smoking around the place. It’ll then only continue stay in your dreams thereafter πŸ˜‰

  4. Nicely done :)I’ll take ur photos next time…me being the phot queen that I am!**underwear – why the hell are we making life so uncomfortable for ourselves?goshh so u dun wear any? LOL!btw Shitrint sweetie tagged me on this one…I better do it soon ha.Keshi.

  5. Phew thank YOU! :)It was nice reading this because most of your answers are unexpected, out of the ordinary and that’s the only way this tags are fun!I like the library idea and I’m tempted to go there and eat one of your meals. And I LOOOOVE languages too, yes, especially the phonetics. To me speaking a foreign language like it should be spoken is therapeutic πŸ™‚

  6. Dharma – who on earth would beat you up?You are compassionate and kind – it makesno sense -i love languages – i love home – i love art -pictures and poetry and YOU!

  7. let me know when you are planning to scale the Everest… I will tag along too…With facts like, global warming… and national geographic letting out that the Himalayan ranges will disappear by 2037, scaling the Everest must slowly become a walk in the park…

  8. Z,the pleasure was mine. whats so wow?MADHURI,thanks to u too!ADITI,really really. someday. *sigh*WESTERN,the western ear is usually quite pathetic when it comes to oriental languages. i think its coz of the total lack of any semblance. he he.SUNRISE,this tag seemed a lil too mundane at the first sight of it, but as i started writing more, i kinda felt i liked it too. i def don’t like tags which ask me for the colour of my underwear and how i like my steak and other tuch silly stuff.dance school? mebbe u can take care of the fine arts dept in my school? whats say? :)never listened to the sea? meaning never been to a sea, or been there, but been busy chattering? πŸ™‚ its quite surprising, but i guess thats geography for u. where do u live? i lived by the coast all my life, so going to the sea is routine activity.the song was quite fascinating, thanks! oh, and thanks also for the long comment – it was fun reading and responding to it. i notice that comments usually tend to get short and seldom build a conversation :)VESPER,yes please – am mailing u soon.MISS,thanks ya, really. that comment is quite encouraging. yes, the nails and undie bit seemed to have re-surfaced – the real me!getting beaten up was not in the least joyful, but it contributed whatever little bit in allaying my fears – and that, believe me, is a lot o joy. fear for me, is weakness, and i wanna be strong!sorry, my library will definitely have reading rooms. smoking will be allowed. those who don’t like it will be advised the following – 1 – don’t use the reading room. borrow ur book, pan the hell out.2 – find another library3 – fly kites ;)KESHI,i don’t like to wear em, but do wear em, atleast for work – for obvious reasons…u see, some of my colleagues are quite hawt ;o)SUPERNOVA,thanks!VASU,i am glad someone finally acknowledges the idea. do u smoke? if not, its even better, coz it comes from a non-smoker!DEVIL,i enjoy phonetics too – and i really make an effort in getting it right!the library, and the bum, will await anxiously the arrival of the devil :)MADDY,well, i love u too πŸ™‚ and u know what, sometimes i think a lot of things don’t make sense – this world is just like that.abt the beating up thing – well, i asked for trouble, i got it :)CM,don’t say that – i really wanna do it. and yes, wil let u know – hope u can spare around 6 months πŸ™‚

  9. DEEPTHI,it wil be my pleasure :)the music season here in madras is usually in the month of dec – jan, and its BIG. in fact, its getting bigger every year. last year alone, we had about 3000 concerts for the season! so lemme know when and we’ll get a season ticket for u!

  10. K,:)???KESHI,r u just trying to act coy and stuff? coz from what i know u, it may not work my friend ;o)ATUL,if and when it materialises, u will be most welcome !

  11. True about the comments getting short.. glad you liked the song! Have been to the sea, but always with others, so had no other choice but to be busy chattering.. well that’s my excuse anyway! How I long to go to the beach on my own one of these days…! And yes, geography is a factor too… that’s why I had only been to the sea with other people.. the ones close to where I live are a DUMP! Disgusting, awful places.. so I’d prefer to go a bit farther out..Hahah… neat idea… fine arts dept.? πŸ˜€ And yes, I know what you mean about “silly” tags… although you know, sometimes it is fun to just go crazy and DO the silly stuff.. and you can look back on them years later, and think about how your tastes may have changed, or what made you say that in the first place… (hence my statement that there is no one you should not listen to, i.e. you should listen to everyone.. the two ideas seem disconnected, but they make sense to me.)

  12. Hi,Enjoyed this post immensely. Can identify very much with you regarding the sounds (or the silence) of the sea.Nothing gives me more peace and bliss than staring blankly at the sea and listening to the music of the waves…..Also, I love trying to decipher the faraway line that separates the sky and the sea. The line that separates the two shades of blue seem so close and likely to intersperse to us laymen looking at it from such a distance, yet don’t we know better!! It is so huge – the difference between earth and sky itself ):-And, have you ever wondered what dark secrets lay buried beneath the unfathomable depths of the swirling waters? Wish we knew.

  13. oh u did the tag! i thought u wouldnt take it up!the underwear point is interesting and one that makes one raise ones eyebrows! do all guys think the same abt underwear? that its a trouble…?hmmm…same peench abt the library. one day i wanna own my own library. books, and maybe audio and video too! im a movie freak but my pocket dosnt allow me too many movies frequently! :(“german, like someone’s cussing (hitler don’t take offense – this is just about my perception alright?”LOL i love german……AND HITLER! :Pthanks for taking up the tag!

  14. SIMPLE,still trying, or did u succeed? we’ll make a cult eh? the toe nail bitersSUNRISE,make sense to me to! and its been nice talking to u :)GAYATHRI,welcome and thanks! do drop by more often. i am a lil disconnected with the blogosphere right now, coz of all the work, but wil get back soon.abt secrets – sometimes i prefer to let them remain that way :)ASH,yay!!!!!you’re back!POORNIMA,not as additive as tobacco for me πŸ™‚ and when did i ever tease u? just said what i felt abt ur ramblings – i believe in honesty :)SHITRINT,how cud i not take it up when my blogger friends tagged me hunh?mebbe we shud collaborate with the library project? we’ll build a brand or something.no, i don’t think all guys think that way – i have friends who squirm at my ways and beliefs in this regard.oh, u like hitler? makes me scared of u :-OKESHI,well now that u did, lets keep it a secret ok? πŸ˜‰

  15. oh dont be scared of me, hun!i like hitler, i am nt Hitler! :Pyep, sure we can collaborate on the library thing! i think that is one of my wishes that is quite possible. πŸ™‚

  16. Dharma JI ;)I would love to grab a cozy reading nook in your library once in a while and agar ginger tea bhi milai gi tou kiya baat hou gi ;)Stay Beautiful..!

  17. HWDK,thanks!ADITI,everything alright na. fact, never looked better πŸ™‚ just been busy, but posted gratitude just now – hope u read it :)SUGARLIPS JI,:) will definitely make the chai, but u’ll have to come quite a distance to pick it up!

Leave a Reply

